The purpose of master bowties is to create a template that can be applied and adapted for multiple site risk assessments.
Master bowties are intended to improve efficiency by creating a standard template for a particular risk scenario that will be encountered at multiple sites of business operation.
Causes and consequences can be included and excluded as well as individual controls applying to each.
When a site risk scenario is linked to a master bowtie, the site risk scenario’s bowtie cannot be edited or modified itself as it is bound to the structure of the master bowtie it is linked to.
Master bowties act as a template for site risk bowties, linked site risk bowties are slaves to the structure of the master bowtie. Any changes made in the master bowtie are pushed down to all linked site bowties.
Site bowties are intended as a quick and efficient way to rollout a specific risk scenario to a particular site.
In order to access the master bowtie functionality, you will need to have Risk Enterprise subscription level for your RiskView environment.
Master bowties have a global scope meaning they can be accessed from any register and applied to a site risk scenario in any register.
Site risk scenarios are likely to have some duplicate contexts across registers hence global scope is a useful feature.
Creating and Editing Master Bowties
As master bowties are global entities, they will be grouped in a separate grid view, which is Master Bowtie grid view (located under Browse > Risk Studies > Master Bowties).
Creating master bowtie is similar to the other entities (such as action, normal bowtie, etc.), which is by clicking on the “+” button from the toolbar (or use the INS shortcut key).
As site bowties are linked to master bowtie, any changes made to the master bowtie will be pushed down to the site bowties automatically. As a result of that, a new workflow for maintaining master bowtie is introduced. User has to go through the edit phase when the master bowtie needs to be updated, otherwise the master bowtie will be in read-only mode. To view/edit the master bowtie, click on the Bowtie button from the toolbar and the following options will be available to the user:
- View Master Bowtie: open the selected master bowtie in read-only mode
- Edit Master Bowtie: open the selected master bowtie in edit mode
- Deactivate Master Bowtie: deactivate the selected master bowtie and removing it from available choice when creating a site bowtie
Upon selecting the Edit Master Bowtie option, the master bowtie model will be shown and the operation is identical to normal bowtie editing. Once you are done with editing the master bowtie, the changes will need to be published. To do that, click on the “Editing” button and select the “Publish Master Bowtie” option.
The publish wizard will be shown upon selecting the Publish Master Bowtie option, where user needs to fill in the review history for the changes. Once the user has completed required and optional fields in the review page the user can progress to the confirmation page where they can then select the ‘Finish’ button to complete the process and save the changes.
Activating and Deactivating Master Bowties
To activate and deactivate master bowties, the user can select the Activate or Deactivate option from the toolbar after selecting a master bowtie in the master risk scenario menu. The user will be prompted if they wish to proceed with the action. A master bowtie that has been deactivated cannot be used to create any more site bowties until it has been reactivated. Site bowties that are linked to the master bowtie that has been deactivated will be unaffected by any changes.
Creating and Reviewing Site Bowties
A Master Bowtie acts as a template for potentially many Site Bowties. Site Bowties are slaves of a Master Bowtie and their composition is defined by the structure of the Master Bowtie. Individual nodes in the Site Bowtie can be included or excluded by the user. All changes made in a Master Bowtie pushes all changes down to linked Site Bowties.
Site bowties are intended as a quick and efficient way to roll-out a specific risk scenario to multiple sites.
Site bowties are accessible under (Browse > Risk Studies > Risk Scenario). The user can create a site bowtie by selecting ‘Add Entry’ from the toolbar. Alternatively the user can edit an existing site bowtie by selecting it and then selecting the edit site bowtie option.
To create a new site bowtie:
To edit an existing site bowtie:
When a master bowtie that is currently linked to a site bowtie is changed, the person responsible for the site bowtie will receive an email notification with a prompt to review the site bowtie for changes. Following the email link will direct the user to begin the review process on the bowtie.
The Site Bowtie Review Process
Follow instructions as per the wizard interface that opens. This process has six sections in the review process. The overview page provides users with an outline to the process. The user must select a master bowtie from the list of active available master bowties, this will be the base structure of this site bowtie.
The user can select which causes and related controls they wish to include. There cannot add any causes or consequences that are not in the master bowtie. Any excluded causes and/or consequences MUST have a comment explaining why they are irrelevant to the context. Similarly to causes, consequences and related controls can be included/excluded on the next page. Again, any excluded items must be commented. The summary provides a tabular overview of the site bowtie. Controls have yellow borders, critical controls also are filled yellow. Causes have a blue border, consequences have a pink border. The review page allows the user to update the details associated with the site bowtie. Details such as associated roles and team members as well as attachments, dates and general comments can be included.
Converting Site Bowties into Ad Hoc Bowties
Selecting a site bowtie and selecting the toolbar option ‘Unlink from Master Risk Scenario’ will unlink a master bowtie from the selected site bowtie. This operation is IRREVERSIBLE, once a site bowtie has been unlinked it is treated as a separate Ad Hoc bowtie and cannot be relinked to a master bowtie. Converting the resultant Ad Hoc bowtie back to a site bowtie will create a new bowtie altogether. After unlinking a site bowtie from a master bowtie all nodes on the site bowtie will become editable as with any other Ad Hoc bowtie.
The user will receive a prompt confirming the action when selecting the unlink option.
Viewing a Site Bowtie
To view a site bowtie, select a site bowtie from the risk scenarios interface and select ‘View Site Risk Scenario’. This will open a read only version of the selected site bowtie.
As this bowtie is read only, no nodes can be changed in bowtie view. The only way to make changes is through the site bowtie review process.
Allocating Bowtie Ownership
Site bowtie ownership can be allocated to a user in a given role with a simple procedure. The user can access ownership by opening the risk scenario details. To open the details, double click a site risk scenario from grid view, or right click a risk scenario and select the ‘properties’ option. Select the ‘Scenario Context’ tab.
The user can select an owner from the drop-down list of existing roles or by selecting the blue ‘+’ icon to create a new role item in the register to use as the owner. Other fields in the scenario context menu such as comments, review history and date are read only and can only be edited by following the bowtie review process as outlined earlier.